Season 1 (10)

2 Seasons | 20 Episodes

Episode 1 The Bodies Left Behind
S 1 E 1

The Bodies Left Behind

Aired on Apr 21, 2009

What if every human being on earth disappeared? This isn’t the story of how we might vanish–it is the story of what happens to the world we leave behind. In this episode, we’ll see what happens to some of the bodies left behind. Most embalmed and buried, some mummified, others cryogenically frozen. Will any of them truly achieve immortality? Or will they be outlived by other memorials to mankind, like the Statue of Liberty or the Sistine Chapel. This is just part of a journey that will take us to the future of cities of Boston and Houston–as well as haunting sites already devoid of man.

Episode 2 Outbreak
S 1 E 2


Aired on Apr 28, 2009

Pigs break loose, rabies spreads, and the Chicago river reverses. Also, the fate of Big Ben, the Queen’s pet corgis, and Chicago’s tallest buildings. This episode is a journey that will take us to the future of Chicago, Atlanta and London–as well as haunting locations already devoid of man. This isn’t the story of how we might vanish–it’s the story of what happens to the world we leave behind.

Episode 3 The Capital Threat
S 1 E 3

The Capital Threat

Aired on May 05, 2009

Nature attacks Washington DC and Los Angeles. The fate of the Constitution and other monuments. Wilted palm trees help spread a massive inferno, while another capital emerges in the Pacific Ocean.

Episode 4 Heavy Metal
S 1 E 4

Heavy Metal

Aired on May 12, 2009

Once people disappear, New York City experiences its next great crash. In this episode, we reveal the breaking point of precious metals: skyscrapers face collapse, bridges hang by a steel thread; and the fate of our nation’s secret stash of gold. Meanwhile, a fatal weakness is exposed in the Gateway Arch, breweries reveal untapped potential for disaster, and horses make a surprising bid to stay alive in a life after people.

Episode 5 The Invaders
S 1 E 5

The Invaders

Aired on May 19, 2009

In a life after people, invasive animals and vines spread: pythons battle alligators, plants strip oxygen from lakes, and sandstorms invade Phoenix. Also, Shanghai sinks and Miami is submerged.

Episode 6 Bound and Buried
S 1 E 6

Bound and Buried

Aired on May 26, 2009

The fate of the treasures left entombed, like the mysterious Doomsday Vault, the Mona Lisa, and the Declaration of Independence. Also, Philadelphia’s Liberty Bell cracks for good and San Francisco’s cable cars and bridges snap.

Episode 7 Sin City Meltdown
S 1 E 7

Sin City Meltdown

Aired on Jun 02, 2009

The apocalyptic future of our gambling meccas. In Las Vegas, a new rat pack takes over, wax figures of celebrities melt, and iconic hotels crumble. In Atlantic City, the ocean tears apart casinos, but the boardwalk refuses to be destroyed.

Episode 8 Armed & Defenseless
S 1 E 8

Armed & Defenseless

Aired on Jun 09, 2009

The fate of mankind’s machinery of war: a sunken nuclear missile explodes, Pearl Harbor comes under renewed attacks, snow causes urban avalanches, and dairy cows are threatened. Featuring Denver, Hawaii, and a mysterious abandoned island near New York City.

Episode 9 The Road to Nowhere
S 1 E 9

The Road to Nowhere

Aired on Jun 16, 2009

The post-apocalyptic fate of our cars, planes and roads. Oil refineries turn into time bombs. In the Motor City, harsh northern winters dismantles auto headquarters. While in Texas, the Alamo succumbs to a new invader. Also, animals adapt: armadillos spread, some dogs rekindle their hunting instincts, and long-horn cattle flourish once again.

Episode 10 Waters of Death
S 1 E 10

Waters of Death

Aired on Jun 23, 2009

Destructive waters overtake the world we leave behind. Rain floods New Orleans again, and when power goes out in the city’s aquarium, it spells doom for thousands of animals. Corrosion from rain brings down Seattle’s Space Needle, while humidity in the Middle East wrecks Dubai’s space-age structures.

Create a Profile to Add this show to your list!

Already have a profile?